Faculty Guide to Erwin Library: Current Issues Databases

When you have an assignment that your instructor says must be about:

• Contemporary issues
• Current controversies
• A Debate
• Pro/Con topics
• Opposing viewpoints
• Hot topics
• Hot button issues
• "In the News" issues
• Recent events

Then you probably need Current Issues Databases.

Access Current Issues Databases:

• From the Current Issues Databases links on this page of the Resource Guide
• Using Select Database Links:
  • Enter a search term into the WCC Single Search box and click the Search button

• Go to the Select Database Links list on the right side of the page

• Click the direct link for the database of your choice (most of the Current Issues databases are in the Social Sciences section of the list)

STEP One:  Zero in on what is specific in your assignment (and could be a search term for you)

STEP Two:  Explore one or more of the databases for direction (look for buzz words, and other related issues, pros and cons, ideas you might not have thought of yet)

STEP Three:  Save what looks good (by setting up a free Personal Account or "My Folder" in each database you use:  HINT:  Create same Username/Password for all of them so you can remember easily)

STEP Four:   Draft a central idea for the point of your own paper

STEP FIVE:  Outline from the central idea, choosing reports and articles to link their supporting or explanatory information to each "bone" in your paper's skeleton

SAMPLE skeleton of a pro/con paper set-up: 

• From the point of view of Group A, Option X is undesirable because of Presumed Result 1, 2, etc., based on its fears of, history with, etc.
• But from the point of view of Group B, Option X is desirable because of Presumed Result 1, 2, etc. based on its hopes for, history with, etc. 
• Ultimately, perhaps Group A does have reason to believe that Option X will result in an undesirable Presumed Result, based on recent events, and Group B may be too optimistic, based on the same recent events.
• However, Option X could be modified by Alternate Strategy XA, to somewhat meet the goals of both Group A and Group B

Okay, Practice on These Sample Assignment Questions! 

First, you might want to:

• Decide which databases to consult for exploratory research (U.S. focus, international focus, or a combination of both?)
• Decide whether to search or browse first (Am I really lost, or do I know exactly what I want to find right from the beginning?)
• Decide that you might need something really specific (Such as this year's National Debate Topic?)

Current Issues Assignments:

1. I have to write an assignment on a current issue, but I have not picked a topic yet.  How do I get started?
2. My instructor gave us 5 contemporary issues to choose from.  Dr. Rollins listed the topics: gun control, minimum wage, immigration, same sex marriage, and parenting skills.  How do I get started?
3. How do I find articles on the death penalty?
4. I saw something in the news about Great Britain deciding whether or not the country should remain part of the European Union (the Brexit).  Where do I find more information?
5. Will all the recent shootings affect gun control laws?  How do I find information on legislation and court cases on that issue?
6. My topic is immigration.  How do I find some articles?
7. Because of recent confrontations between police officers and members of the African-American community, the controversial issue of body cameras for police offers remains in the spotlight. Can body cameras increase accountability and transparency during interactions between police officers and citizens? Or are body cameras a false solution because they ultimately don't address the deeper social issues that exist in our country?
8. The National Debate topic for 2016-2017 is “Economic and Political Relations  between the United States and China.”  Where will I find some articles to help me prepare for a debate?
9. I need to know about the Department of Homeland Security.

 

Who Needs To Know About Current Issues?

You Do!  And Not Just for Writing Assignments . . .

Long after you finish your degree, you'll need to know what's going on out there:

• To keep ahead of developments in your career
• To know what will face you and your family in the future, nationally and internationally
• To prepare economically and mentally for changes on the horizon 

It's a big world, and you just might make a difference you didn't realize you could, by being aware and acting on your growing knowledge of, and involvement in, Current Issues.

Go Forth and Make History (Just Know Some First, So We Don't Repeat the Iffy Stuff)!

These Current Issues Databases are Great for Preliminary Research!  They can even help you find a topic, if you're still lost, or pin down your own views to write about for an issue you have chosen.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher: provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Years covered:  1991-present

Functionality lets you:

• Search by keyword, or Browse by topic or report
• Browse by pro/con questions
• View reports, including featured reports and hot topics
• Track issues and related reports

Content:

• Is related to U.S. legislation, originally written to keep senators and representatives fully informed on issues
• Has a United States focus and perspective, but also contains some content on international issues
• Is compiled by professional journalists
• Features infographics (also called data visualizations) designed to make data easily understandable at a glance

Personal Account Set-up lets you keep track of your:

• Favorite Documents
• Save Searches
• Document History (links you to the last 25 documents you visited, beginning with the most recently viewed)
• Topic Alerts

Gale in Context: Global Issues

Gale in Context: Global Issues: spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search, Gale in Context: Global Issues not only focuses on broad issues such as poverty and nuclear proliferation, it also prompts a close appraisal of targeted issues, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Syrian Civil War, Genetically Modified Foods, Internet Control and Security, and Privacy Rights.

Functionality that gives you the ability to:

• Search by keyword, or Browse by topic or report
• Bookmark the URL (as a Permalink)
• Highlight and write in notes
• Link to related topics

Content:

• Is is more international in scope and perspective than CQ Researcher
• Includes videos, podcasts, charts, interactive maps, graphics, and statistics
• Is compiled by highly reputable professional journalists
• Comes from magazines, academic journals, reference sources, newspapers, primary source documents, and more

Personal Account Set-up so you can:

• Save entire articles to your Google Drive
• Save your highlighting and notes
• Save articles and other items to "My Folder" as well as download to Google Drive from "My Folder"

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints:  From capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana this cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.  Support for debaters:  Help your debate team gather talking points and new perspectives for their arguments with content from Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.

Functionality lets you:

• Search by keyword or browse by topic or report
• Listen to audio for the visually impaired
• Highlight and write in notes
• Bookmark the URL (as a Permalink)
• Link to related topics

Content features:

• United States focus and perspective
• Talking points and perspectives for debate teams
• Special coverage of the annual debate topic (as determined by the National Speech and Debate Association)
• Includes videos, charts, interactive maps, graphs, and statistics
• Profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups
• Full-text articles from multiple perspective newspapers and periodicals

Personal Account Set-up so you can easily:

• Save articles to Google Drive
• Save highlighting and notes
• Save articles and other items to My Folder and download to Google Drive from My Folder

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center: is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Functionality that allows you to:

• Search by keyword, or Browse by category
• Read article in HTML format
• Search images under the "More" menu

Content that features:

• "In the News" current topics
• "Research Guides" that provide tips and strategies for outlining an essay, writing a topic sentence, giving an oral presentation, etc.
• Images, including some historical photographs

Personal Account Set-up that lets you:

• Create a folder to save articles
• Share your folder with others
• Revisit your search history
• Create email alerts and/or an RSS feed