Skip to Main Content

Faculty Guide to Erwin Library: Banned Books and Censorship

Libraries and Intellectual Freedom

Librarians join with the American Library Association (ALA) in supporting the highest standards of intellectual freedom and integrity. 

  • Though every book that is published is not automatically worthy of the highest regard for the authority or accuracy of its content, neither should a free society censor access to read published books based on the opinions of the few. 
  • Books are better debated and discussed than feared and suppressed.

What is a Challenge, or a Ban?

  • Challenge is an attempt to remove or restrict materials, based upon the objections of a person or group, including:
    • Materials held in a library and/or
    • Materials assigned to students in a class
  • Banning is the removal of those materials:
    • From the library and/or
    • From student assignments
  • "Challenges do not simply involve a person expressing a point of view; rather, they are an attempt to remove material from the curriculum or library, thereby restricting the access of others. 
  • Due to the commitment of librarians, teachers, parents, students and other concerned citizens, most challenges are unsuccessful and most materials are retained in the school curriculum or library collection."

How and Why are library materials challenged?

Though a challenge may begin as an oral objection, the procedure for any library proceeds to a:

  • Written challenge form submitted by the challenger, and a
  • Forrmal hearing of a committee composed of various school or public administrators.
  • NOTE:  If you are curious about how a challenge would be handled in a particular library, you should contact the library directly, since all forms and procedures differ slightly.

The ALA gives advice to librarians on this process with the following:

  1. Read, view or listen to the challenged material in its entirety
  2. Review the selection process and the criteria for selection
  3. Check reviews and recommended lists to determine recommendations by the experts and critics
  4. Meet to discuss the challenge; and
  5. Make a recommendation to the administrator on removal, retention, or replacement.
  • Workbook for Selection Policy Writing:
    • A library must always have available to the public a clear, official statement of the criteria and procedures involved in selecting materials to add to the library's collection. 
    • The Erwin Library at Wayne Community College provides a link to its Collection Development Plan on the library homepage, with a paper copy available at the Circulation Desk as well.  This document contains a section titled "Request to Reconsider Library Materials" which includes a copy of the form that would be used to make a formal, written challenge to a book held on the Erwin Library's shelves.
    • The Erwin Library Mission Statement incorporates its basic criteria and procedure for materials selection.
    • All books and DVDs held by The Erwin Library can be searched by anyone with no login required, using the OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog). 
    • HINT:  To find titles in The Erwin Library collection about book censorship search using the subject term:  Censorship United States
    • If material is not held in The Erwin Library, any user with a current library card may request it through an Interlibrary Loan request, free of charge.
  • The Censor: Motives and Tactics - Library materials are most often targeted for censorship based on these motivational factors, often in the belief that the library should support certain views or causes, rather than be a resource providing information to all library users on all views and causes:
    • Family values - The following were the top three reasons cited for challenging materials, usually aimed at protecting children, as reported to the ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom:
      • The material was considered to be "sexually explicit"
      • The material contained "offensive language"
      • The material was "unsuited to any age group"
    • Religion
    • Political views
    • Minority rights

Above all, the ALA reminds us all that it is important to remember that:

"In the United States, under the First Amendment, no citizen and no librarian can properly assume the duty or right to restrict or suppress legally protected expressions of ideas. The censor may not understand that a request that certain works be labeled or restricted, if fulfilled, would lead to an abridgment of the rights of other library users."

American Library Association

American Library Association (ALA) Banned & Challenged Books Website

Produced and maintained by the Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) of the American Library Association (ALA), this website is your first stop when seeking to learn about the history and current state of challenging and/or banning books from being present on library shelves all over the United States.  You will find a wealth is resources for your research; high on the list to consult are:

Find Out More About Banned Books Week 2023

Sign-up for the Free Intellectual Freedom Newsletter

ALA and Intellectual Freedom

"A commitment to intellectual freedom transforms your library"

"ALA actively advocates and educates in defense of intellectual freedom—the rights of library users to read, seek information, and speak freely as guaranteed by the First Amendment. Intellectual freedom is a core value of the library profession, and a basic right in our democratic society. A publicly supported library provides free, equitable, and confidential access to information for all people of its community."

ALA's Intellectual Freedom page provides links to an important group of resources on the relationship of American libraries with the public especially when defending each individual citizen's right to read and research freely, as well as in privacy.

A sample of two main codes adhered to and revered by American Librarians are:

Library Bill of Rights

Code of Ethics of the American Library Association

Banned Books Youtube Channel