WCC Bison Single Search box
Available on the Erwin Library homepage, the WCC Bison Single Search box makes the most of the library’s ever-evolving collection of electronic resources, searchable through the Summon Discovery Service. These resources are a carefully selected group of electronic materials in a wide variety of databases, including:
Erwin Library provides access to over 200 databases through institutional subscriptions and NC Live to meet the needs of Wayne Community College’s academic programs and student research needs. All our resources are searchable in the WCC Bison Single Search, including the library's physical book collection making it a truly "single search.” All you will need for access to the WCC Single Search is your own Erwin Library barcode number to login. As a WCC student, faculty, or staff member, you can apply for a library card/barcode online using the Library Card Application.
Just as “NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy,” the WCC Bison Single Search expands those subject areas to provide more coverage in topics such as those used for current issues, critical thinking, literature, history, science, computers, applied technology, allied health, and business research. More materials on researching jobs and careers, and preparing for professional and advanced educational exams are also available.
OPAC Search link
Below the WCC Bison Single Search box is the OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog) link to a search interface for the library’s online catalog of print books. You may choose to search for only holdings in the Erwin Library or those in the Community College Libraries in the North Carolina Consortium (CCLINC).
Tutorials, Citation, and Subject Guides (Currently under review for updates)
Many aids to using the WCC Bison Single Search or the OPAC are available on the Tutorials, Citation, and Subject Guides page. For example, the WCC Bison Single Search Basics: Find, Permalink, and Cite Scholarly Article (PDF) tutorial will help you with developing your search strategy for finding scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, as well as generating a citation to use in your final Bibliography or Works Cited page, and retrieving permalinks to use to reaccess the same articles directly.
Research Guides (Currently under review for updating)
You will find more aids to these searches in the Student Guide to Erwin Library Research Guide (a link to which is included on all Moodle class pages in the Student Resources drop-down menu). Other Research Guides focus on the needs of students in specialized fields such as dental hygiene and medical lab technology. A Faculty Guide to Erwin Library provides aids for instructors in guiding students in the use of these library resources.